The 2017 Mayor’s Celebration for the Arts nominees are:


Mayor Don Iveson and the Professional Arts Coalition of Edmonton (PACE) are pleased to announce the nominees of the 30th Mayor’s Celebration for the Arts.

Mayor’s Award for Innovative Support by a Business for the Arts
Recognizing a local business that has invested in an arts organization, event, project or individual artist in the greater Edmonton area in a creative and original manner.

Bedouin Beats

PlanIt Sound Inc

Steel Craft Door Products Ltd.

Mayor’s Award for Sustained Support of the Arts
Recognizing a business that or an individual who has demonstrated an ongoing commitment to investing in Edmonton’s arts and culture industry through a specific arts organization, event, individual artist, or widespread investment in the arts.


Landmark Homes

The Paint Spot

Sarmad Shawqi, ceramic art teacher, Iraqi Canadian Association

John Poole Award for Promotion of the Arts
Recognizing an individual, arts organization, media organization or business that has promoted the arts in a distinctly creative or exceptional manner.

Sventlana Kanyo, visual artist and managing director, Masters Arts Academy

Jenna Marynowski, owner and writer, After the House Lights

Brent Oliver, director, BOP Management & Consulting; artistic Ddirector, UP+DT Festival

Zach Polis, content advisor and editor, Monetizing Your Creativity Podcast

ATB Financial Ambassador of the Arts Award
Recognizing a mid-career individual or organization successful on a national or international level, that enlightens audiences and promotes Edmonton’s rich cultural, performance or visual arts scene in an extraordinary way.

Arooka, Edmonton Multicultural Artist Group

Mariam Qureshi, curator, organizer and artist leader, Lotus Gallery

ATCO Gas Award for Outstanding Lifetime Achievement
Recognizing an individual who, over a minimum of 25 years, has made an outstanding contribution to the arts in Edmonton. After careful deliberation, the awards jury for the ATCO Gas Award for Outstanding Lifetime Achievement is honouring just one individual, a true Edmonton treasure, an artist who’s work has shown in over 350 exhibitions across Canada and internationally since the early 1970s. This artist’s transformative work is represented in numerous Canadian collections, including the National Gallery of Canada and the Art Gallery of Alberta. We cannot wait to announce this extremely deserving artist at the Mayor’s Celebration of the Arts on Thursday, April 21 at City Hall.

Qualico Artistic Leadership Award

Recognizing an individual who or an organization that has blazed trails and made great impact on their community. This award will acknowledge outstanding achievement as an artistic leader, and celebrate those who have led others toward excellence in a specific arts discipline.

Dr. Allison Balcetis, musician, instructor of saxophone, University of Alberta

Jake Hastey, artistic director and chief executive officer, Toy Guns Dance Theatre

Svetlana Kanyo, visual artist and managing director, Masters Arts Academy

Julie Kiraly, director and chief executive officer, Hit That Jive Productions Ltd.

Paul Schieman, founder and artistic director, Alberta Baroque Ensemble

Robert Kroetsch City of Edmonton Book Prize
Recognizing written work which deals with some aspect of the city of Edmonton: history, geography, current affairs, its arts or its people or is written by an Edmonton author.

Lauralyn Chow

Katherine Koller

Trent Portigal

Syncrude Award for Excellence in Arts Management
Recognizing individuals or organizations who have demonstrated innovation, leadership and vision in the management of a professional arts organization.

Rayanne Doucet, executive director, Edmonton Poetry Festival

Carol Holmes, executive director, Writers’ Guild of Alberta

Kim Mattice Wanat, artistic and managing director, Opera Nuova

Ken Regan, chief executive officer (retired), CKUA Radio

Murray Utas, artistic director, Fringe Theatre

TELUS Courage to Innovate Award
Recognizing an individual or organization that has displayed the courage to take artistic risks and embrace innovation in artistic expression, resulting in a unique and distinctive project.


The Executive of Toy Guns Dance Theatre

Fresh Canvas Art Company

Jen Mesch, Artistic Director, Jen Mesch Dance Conspiracy

Obsessions Octet


Emerging Artist Award
Recognizing Edmonton’s valued, upcoming professionals – artists who, in the  early stages of their careers, demonstrate exceptional talent and accomplishments, as well as a unique artistic expression and commitment to the arts in the Edmonton region.

Nasra Adem, Youth Poet Laureate of Edmonton, Sister 2 Sister & Black Arts Matter

Kasie Campbell, visual artist

Stephanie Lilley, artistic director, Viva Dance

Marlaena Moore, singer songwriter

Kate Stashko, dancer and choreographer

Jeannie Vandekerkhove, dancer and choreographer

Congratulations to the 2017 Mayor’s Celebration of the Arts nominees. The Mayor’s Celebration of the Arts showcases Edmonton’s vibrant arts and culture industry by bringing together artists, the business community, media and arts appreciators to honour the valuable contributions Edmonton artists and arts champions make to our city. Join us!